Belmont Law Review

Volume 11, Issue 1 (2023)

Since its inception in 2012, the Belmont Law Review has enthusiastically sought to create and preserve a platform for intellectual exchange on topics affecting the legal profession. The members of this student-managed, student-edited scholarly journal dedicate themselves to facilitating, promoting, and engaging in valuable legal discourse through the Review’s annual symposium, scholarly events, and biannual publications. Issue I of this volume is comprised of a delightful array of legal scholarship written by professors, attorneys, and students alike. The Review extends its sincerest gratitude to the authors for their investment of time, research, and dedication to promoting thoughtful legal discourse. The Review also wishes to express its appreciation for the commitment of the Belmont University College of Law faculty, staff, and administration in supporting and advancing the Review’s goal of publishing excellent legal scholarship. We extend particular gratitude to Dean Deborah Farringer, whose continued help and support has been vital in guiding the Review in publishing Volume 11. Finally, I would like to thank our dedicated team of editors. This team continued to work tirelessly to ensure the quality of this publication remained at the highest level. I am extremely thankful for the hard work that each member of the Review put into this publication.



Securing Patent Law
Charles Duan

Student Notes

Maggie McCullough

Managing Editor
Jacob Greene

Executive Articles Editor
Anna Kate Ferrell

Executive Notes Editor
Corine Stark

Executive Events Editor
Alexis Phelps

Executive Symposium Editor
Natalie Anders

Executive Development and Technology Editor
Bradley Kilborn

Executive Submissions and Transcripts Editor
Tyler Dove

Submissions and Transcripts Editors
Jacob Duncan | Katie Ray Murray

Article and Note Editors
Theresa Brown | Macie Campidilli
Lauren Fariss | Catherine Farone
Nora Klein | Samantha McCaleb
Sarah Neece | Charles Nugen
Torin Shanahan | Jacqueline Woodruff
Madison Woodson

Associate Editors
Summer Basham | Danny Boyarsky
Alessandro Colangelo | Elizabeth Finnega
Joseph Freeman | Hannah Grewal
Jackson Hasty | Macy Hudson
Andres Martin | Hunter McCloud
William Peltier | Kelsey Perault
Benjamin Peterson | Justice Slone
Zachary Sterne | Benjamin Tandy
Alicia Van Huizen | Andrew Weikert
Kealy Welage

Faculty Advisor
Deborah Farringer